2 min read

NWSLTTR III: HLL N RTH

The final short one? Watch this space.
A detail from IMMORTAL THOR #4, showing Storm throwing lightning at Thor.
When you're writing them both, they have to team up. That's a law of some kind.

It's another NWSLTTR - a stripped-down, late-coming version of the regular newsletter - because it's a week of gruelling physical labor and gruelling deadlines. But it's not all gruel and gloom - I got to attend Thought Bubble 2023 at the weekend! Thank you to the organizers for putting on such an amazing show - I had a great time, bought a lot of badges and a lot of very fun (and occasionally very NSFW) zines. It remains my favorite convention of the year - it being my home convention only cements that. Once I'm past the madness - next time, hopefully - I'll do a full rundown of the con, including our triumphant return to the DJ booth at the Mid-Con Party, and the best of what I bought (but have not yet had time to read).

But meanwhile, it's Wednesday morning - so I've got to ask...

WHAT'S OUT TODAY?

The cover for IMMORTAL THOR #4, by Alex Ross, showing
That "they" is important, and not for my usual reasons.

Immortal Thor #4, that's what! Featuring Thor's latest move in the campaign against the Elder God of Thunder, Toranos the Utgard-Thor. Thor recruits a gang of allies – including Storm, because if you think I'm not going to have Marvel's other premier lightning-throwing character guest in this book, you're crazy, and the best time to do that is while I'm writing them both so I can make some fun little connections. Still, what Martin Cóccolo and Matt Wilson do with Thor's small human moments here is worth a hundred lightning bolts to me.

Oh, and we do something on the last page I can't believe we got away with.

Also out this week - Immortal Thor #2 Second Printing, if you need to catch up!

OKAY, GOTTA GO

I have Work Work (artists need feeding, Magneto gotta Magnete) and House Work (huge amounts of my stuff to move around ready for people to fix the holes in the walls) so I'm out. Love and strenge to all who need it, and I'll play us out with a banger I tested on the TBubz Dancefloor this year - Whitney Houston with "So Emotional".

I don't know why I like it, I just do.